Camino minus 20 days!!

The only way to do laundry in Spain on the Camino!  I'm here with some Camino Amigos in Santo Domingo de la Calzada in 2011.  Joan from Canada is on the left, then me, then Janie and Kim from Arkansas, USA.

The only way to do laundry in Spain on the Camino! I’m here with some Camino Amigos in Santo Domingo de la Calzada in 2011. Joan from Canada is on the left, then me, then Janie and Kim from Arkansas, USA.

I was speaking to a co-worker today (Katy) who asked me if I was nervous about my upcoming trip. At the time I didn’t quite know what to say. After thinking it over some I realized that I am TERRIFIED!!

In 2011 I had a similar feeling before the Camino. At that time it was more directed at whether or not I could cross the Pyrenees, I didn’t know enough to be nervous about the rest of the trip. Having never crossed a mountain range or really done much hiking I think that it was normal to feel that way, but it turned out that I did fairly well. It was after that I had challenges.

This time I’m starting at Roncesvalles, a very small town on the Spanish side of the mountains. Logistically since I’m coming from Pamplona via Madrid it’s just easier to start there than going to St. Jean Pied de Port in France. So I only have to walk 479 miles.

I’m basically walking on my own through Northern Spain with a backpack and that’s it! Last time I had problems with leg cramps, huge blisters on my feet, sickness, dehyration, losing weight and tendonitis. I even broke down and cried 3 times (actually that’s not too bad for me). So if I continue thinking about it that way I will certainly continue to be terrified

HOWEVER, I’ve done as much as I can to help with the physical challenges. And the other good news that I found out last time is that you never have to be alone on the Camino Frances. If you’re open to it, you can meet a bunch of people. I did and thanks to Janie, Kim, Kat, Joanne, Eva, Sonia, Annina, Jacqueline, Nadia, Susan, Natalie, Martin, Monique, Gal, Joan, Joy, Elisabeth, Sebastian, Jacque, Roberto and of course my brother Sandy and nephew Luke (just to name a few), I know that I’ll have a great Camino starting in 20 days!

5 thoughts on “Camino minus 20 days!!

  1. Rose Cain

    Rocky, it would be great for you to take a map and with a pen mark along the trail as you go then, occasionally take a photo on your phone and somehow add that to your blogs so we can see the path you are taking. I tend to be real visual but that way I could get a good view of which way you are headed. THe city names are great too because then I can look them up to see what the weather is like and look up a bit “about” those places. Sounds like a lot of fun for all of us to participate in your trip from far away. Can’t wait! Rose

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Random thoughts about the Camino | Read it to absorb my awesomeness

Leave a Reply

