Getting Ready to Start

I can’t believe that I went to bed at 5:30.  In the morning.  I woke up at 9am the same morning. What a bad case of jet lag!  Once I was up though I was up and hungry.  Here’s my breakfast, all my favorites: pan tostado, 3 different kinds of jam, membrillo, jamón serrano, fresh squeezed orange juice and café con leche!


I stayed at my brothers favorite hotel in Santiago.  I feel so spoiled now!  They took really good care of me.  


My plan for the day was: 1) to stay up as long as possible; 2) get a poncho; 3) get a buff; and 4) get to Ferrol.  I accomplished all of the above and walked about 6 miles!  

This is my 5th time in Santiago and I’ll probably be there 2 more times on this trip, but here are some of the sights.


I was able to walk across town and highly recommend the following store for sports stuff:


I also found a great bookstore, the Folla Nova and bought 2 lightweight books.

After a brief stop at the hotel to pick up my backpack I went to the bus station. 

Spain has a great bus system once you understand it.  In the US where we use only one bus system that goes throughout the county.  Spain has several, but they specialize.  Castromil (Monbus) is the one to use to get around in this part of Galicia.  I got there just in time for the 1:30pm bus and got to Ferrol at about 2:45pm. Here’s the bus schedule:


There was an older Italian gentleman on my bus, I think that he’s going to walk the Camino Ingles also.  Soon after getting to Ferrol I was at my hotel and settling in. The first picture is of my key.  Thank heaven that I have to turn it back in when I go out.  It’s really heavy!


Definitely not as nice as yesterday’s hotel, but it fits my requirements: 1) inexpensive; 2) clean; and 3) safe.

Oh oh, by the time that I was settled it was 3:45pm and I hadn’t eaten since about 9:45am. Many restaurants close after 4pm and then open up again at 7pm.  I walked quickly and found a few places and got a very filling 3 course meal for 8 Euros.  The 2nd course was some kind of stew which was really filling!


After eating I decided to walk around.  I found the starting point for tomorrow’s walk and since it goes back past my hotel I thought that I’d do this part today! The first picture is the starting point by the Port.


Very easy walking.  I went past the Parador  (fancy historic hotel).  


There were some signs to follow.


It’s really funny, but when I was walking to the starting point hardly anyone was in the streets.  As I walked back to the hotel, lots of activity.



Some interesting sights. The first is of someone getting furniture up to their 3rd floor apartment.


Ok, it’s almost 9:30pm, I made my goal!  Looking forward to tomorrow! Next stop, Neda.

1 thought on “Getting Ready to Start

  1. jeff crawley

    This is all good information for when I do the Ingles next spring – jealous about the breakfast!
    Could almost smell the fumes in the bus station – was there in 2015 catching the bus to Muxia.
    Had eaten churros for breakfast and what with the bouncy city bus ride to the station was not feeling at my best as we went looking for the Muxia bus.
    Perhaps the crowd in the street was people coming out to greet you! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment