Not the End of the World – Camino Ingles Day 4

September 9, 2017. Miño to Miño 5.4 miles (8.69 km per my phone)

No, that wasn’t a typo.  I stayed in Miño today.  This morning I woke up before my alarm after a great nights sleep, stepped out of bed and said “OUCH“!  Actually I was thinking something else in that moment.  

Apparently my right knee did not like the 29 floors (according to my phone) that I went up.  Now what?

I spent some time rubbing my knee and considering my options.  I tried walking again and it was somewhat better. I thought back to other Camino challenges:

2011 Camino Frances I had about 8 blisters and went to the doctor, got sick with fever, had problems with my allergies.

2013 Camino Frances went pretty well really, I can’t remember any big problems. One or two small blisters.

2015 Caminho Portuguese da Costa I had two bad blisters and one of those got infected. I won’t forget that soon.

So my point is that I’m ok.  I can walk fine, most of the time. It’s not the end of the world.  I’m disappointed, but fortunately I have plenty of time. I decided that I would do the following:

1) stay in Miño today and  just exercise lightly.

2) take some anti-inflammatory medication and use some cream

3) see if I can find a knee brace

4) walk to Betanzos tomorrow and send my backpack to my next stop.  

I went down to breakfast where I saw the Italian Peregrinos from Milan that I had met yesterday.  It felt a bit lonely seeing them leave after breakfast and then have to carefully walkup the two flights of stairs to my room.

However I walked back down those same stairs and took the opportunity to explore this pretty town some more. Here are some things that many Peregrinos see while on Camino.

The Pharmacy

The Grocery Store

The place where you buy churros!


I did go for a second breakfast here. The churros were still good.  This time with coffee!

The local church



The church was not open, but the sign gave me its name.

The Menu del Dia


The above reminds me a bit of what my mom calls the blue plate special. You get wine, or water or sometimes pop.  A choice of a first course, then a you can select a main course then dessert or coffee.  The price is pretty good for a lot of food.


The above is a picture of the sidewalk and the street.  The street is on the far left.  The red is parallel parking and then the sidewalk.

The train from an overpass view


A local bus stop

A fruit store

The tourism office

Market Day tomorrow!

My favorite, the pastry store!

Seafood Store used by the locals.


Those who know me well will understand the significance of the picture above!


Here are those chestnuts that the squirrels took Wendy Gage!

I still remember how surprised I was when I first came to Europe to see so many “specialty” stores.

Cute little tree growing outside if a restaurant on my way to the beach.


A very fun looking hair salon.  I was tempted…..

In Miño there are two main beaches.  The one that I showed you yesterday was the Port.  Today though the tide was out.


Ok, I live on a Port city and I was amazed to see the last picture.

A pretty bush; anyone know what it’s called?

I bought two of these.  Arepas made by a very nice woman from Venezuela!  Very fresh and filling!


My first view of the Praia Grande (the big beach).


This is a video of the big beach.  By this time the wind was picking up and it was starting to rain.  Fortunately it didn’t last long!

Well, not an exciting day, but I got through it ok.  I’ve be n sitting for awhile so I’ll take a very short walk to the grocery store to get some bottled water.

Tomorrow I’ll be on my way to Betanzos!

6 thoughts on “Not the End of the World – Camino Ingles Day 4

  1. Jan Rivero

    How’s the weather? We are planning for Sept 2018 and wonder what kind of weather to be prepared for. Just bought my shoes yesterday. Very excited.

    Reply
    1. rockyb4321 Post author

      The weather is fine. Mornings are a bit chilly (everyone here wears jackets in the morning) until after 9am and then it gets warmer but not super hot. Probably about 70’s. It rained a bit (the umbrellas came out), but not really heavy. I’m from the Seattle area so the weather is fine for me! Good luck, it’s a very pretty Camino but do a lot of hill training before you come!

      Reply

Leave a comment