Status: Stalled – Camino Ingles Day 8

September 13, 2017 

Sigueiro – Pension Vilanova. 

Well, it’s hard to walk in flip flops for any long distance and it’s too painful to wear my walking shoes. So my Camino has stalled for the moment.

No pictures from today, sorry.  Tomorrow I’m going to try to walk into town.

One of my cousins pointed out to me that everything happens for a reason.  I totally agree. 

Going one step further (sorry for the pun) I think that sometimes good things can come from a change in plans, so I don’t get as disappointed as I once would have become.

This morning I had to decide what to do since I could only walk in flip flops so I decided to take the bus from Meson Novo to Sigueiro and stay at Pension Vilanova.  

Another woman was waiting for the bus too. Without giving too many personal details, we had a lively conversation from about 11:30am to 3:00pm! It was wonderful getting to know this woman from a totally different background, experience and country and to see how our philosophy about life is so similar!

I would not have met her if I walked today so am very happy in spite of my initial disappointment!

As for my plans.  I will stay here tonight and tomorrow; go to a clinic to make sure that my blister is ok (I think that it is) and then see how I feel after that. The good news is that my knee is fine, the wifi is good and there are many things that I can do while getting better.

By the way.  My new friend told me that the albergue at Hospital de Bruma was full last night and that there was additional room for 20 people at the deportivo.  They ran out of mattresses though.  Wow!

There is also a lot of “talk” from other people that I’ve met about the amount of asphalt walking and how before it was different.

About my accommodation for my next two nights; Pension Vilanova is not inexpensive, but is new (3 months), very nice, and the owner is providing great customer service! It’s about a 15 minutes walk out of town.

As for my plans…..I’ll get back to Santiago sometime, but I still want to spend some time in Southern Spain and also go to Barcelona to see Sagrada Familia! So we’ll see what happens. 

One day at a time! I’ll be blogging my adventures when I get back on my feet (hopefully soon).

Thanks for following my blog.

8 thoughts on “Status: Stalled – Camino Ingles Day 8

  1. mctortosa

    Goodd luck with that blister Rocky. But it’s always about the journey, not the destination. There isn’t a hike I’ve done recently (as I age) where I haven’t pulled or strained some leg or foot muscle. I now take it as a sign to slow down and embrace my surroundings wherever I may find myself. Message me on FB if you are able to visit me near Almeria in southern Spain.

    Reply

Leave a comment