Good-Bye Camino Ingles!  Hello More Adventures!

September 14, 2017.   

Sigueiro, Spain

In my last post I was trying to figure out what was going on with the enormous blister on my left heel.  

Picture from yesterday!


Fortunately I have a family who pushes me to do the right thing and I asked to have an appointment  set up for me at a clinic called Andarela.  I was very happy with the treatment that they gave me!  The person who helped me was fast, very professional, and very patient with all of my questions.  She explained to me that my blister is not infected (gracias a Dios),  but that it’s inflamed.  She took off the top cover of the blister (don’t do this yourself) cleaned everything and dressed it in a way that helps it to breathe and also to dry out and prevent infection!  I was very impressed.  The only thing that I didn’t have her do was to write down the instructions.  Hopefully I’ll get it all correct for tomorrow! Also it was very economical.  I felt much better immediately afterwards! Thank you very very much!


Talking about good treatment; a very big shout out to Chencho, the owner of Pension Vilanova.  He has been treating me like a queen during my stay here.  Look at this wonderful breakfast!


He’s been very supportive during this uncertain time and I have had some wonderful conversations with both him and his mother-in-law who helps him.

This is a new business, but Chencho strives to anticipate what his guests will need and to make their stay a great one.  I’m very impressed with his attention to detail and energy!  Here’s a picture of my room, but it really doesn’t do it justice. Definitely a great place to stay!


After my foot treatment I had to have coffee and a pastry to celebrate and then walked around Sigueira a bit after my foot appointment and then had a great lunch at Miras. It was nice to be able to walk some!

That’s actually coffee and some bites if tortilla. I had the pastry earlier.

The intersection where I had both coffee and lunch

A really big paella pan

The store where you can get anything and everything!

This is the Center for the study of the Camino Ingles?

The library, but I came at 3pm and it was closed

Sigueiro town hall

A memorial for those who died in the Madrid bombing

The “Menu of the Day”

Chicken thigh, drumstick with french fries

Cheese Cake


Ok, I was told by the foot professional that it would take about a week for my heel to heal completely.  So, I had to make a decision.   There are other things that I’d like to see and do while in Spain so I’m going to the beach for a few days and will do some “light” walking and not give my foot anymore trauma than I have to for right now.  

Somewhat disappointing, but someday I’ll go back to Presedo and finish my walk to Santiago on the Camino Ingles!  

I will have some more adventures, please feel free to continue reading my blog! 

Thank you for all of your supportive comments!

6 thoughts on “Good-Bye Camino Ingles!  Hello More Adventures!

  1. jeff crawley

    Well nobody can say you didn’t give it a go!
    Be a sweetheart and post a list of the places you stayed in – really like the look of them.
    In the meantime chill out and, if you get a hot day, sit back and sip a pacharan with lots of ice in it.
    Via con Dios Perigrina!

    Reply

Leave a comment